Breakfast tacos and a farewell to my floofy hair.

Let me start out with a confession: last night I drove what would normally be a 60 minute drive (closer to 140 minutes, thanks to Friday after-work traffic) to my parents’ place just to do laundry.

When my boss was my age, he owned his own company and had two children.

Okay, I’ll clarify a few things: 1) I did my laundry myself (my parents weren’t even home) and 2) The primary purpose of my venture to my parents’ place in Bowmanville wasn’t even to do laundry. It was to grab an old pair of climbing shoes I’m selling to someone. And I thought, hey, I have a little laundry in my hamper I’d like to get cleaned up, but it’s not enough to justify spending $4 on. So, I did it at my parents’ place. While I was there, I ended up spending some quality time with their pets, playing some piano, taking a dip in the hot tub and using my Mom’s good hairdressing scissors to give myself a much-needed trim.

Good-bye, floof!

Good-bye, floor! My ears, they can see the light of day once again!

But okay, enough of that. We’re here to talk about breakfast tacos.

That’s right. Breakfast. Tacos.

I’m an early riser, even on weekends. And what’s the point of rising with (or before) the sun if you’re not going to really give yourself a damn good breakfast?

I love me a good tofu scramble. And I love me a good burrito. You can see where this is a perfect combination. But yesterday at Whole Foods I found a package of mini corn tortillas on sale for less than $2. For a lot of corn tortillas. So yeah, breakfast tacos suddenly seemed like a funky new thing to start my day with. Tacos are such a nighttime thing. And, since last year’s tacqueria craze hit Toronto, I no longer associate tacos with out-of-the-box, busy-house dinners. No, tacos are actually a pretty fancy meal these days.

Let’s start from the beginning. I make a lot of variations on tofu scramble. But I always follow more or less the same formula in this order:

  1. Oil, onions and garlic on low heat until the onions soften and your kitchen smells amazing.
  2. Diced potatoes, sweet potatoes, or anything else that is very dense (like a bell
    pepper or celery if that’s your bag). I usually have to microwave my potatoes for a few minutes beforehand so they cook more quickly.
  3. Extra protein. Normally I use mushrooms (crimini or shiitake, or portobello if I want to go for a really meaty taste) but sometimes I use black beans or chickpeas.
  4. This is when I toss in my spices and, if I’m using, nutritional yeast. I toss these all around for awhile and let the flavours develop.
  5. Then I add in the softer stuff — anything I want soft but not too wilted in the end. Tomatoes, any greens, olives I guess if you’re into that (I’m NOT).
  6. Finally, the tofu! I make sure it’s nice and pressed, then crumble by hand. Let it soak up all the flavours, add any salt or pepper, and then even add in some Daiya if you want to get some melty cheese in there.

Today’s started with oil, onions and garlic.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Look how pretty!

Then regular yellow potatoes. Nothing exciting here. Move along, people. But then came the black beans — which also happened to have some corn mixed in from another dish I made. Hey, I’m not complaining! Corn is good for you!

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

From there I added some cilantro, parsley and thyme along with some nutritional yeast and let I added tomatoes and some kale I’d found in my freezer. As you can see, my first pan was a bit crowded, so I ended up transferring it over to another.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

And here comes the main event, tofu!

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

I added it onto the corn tortillas with a half a slice of Toffuti cheese each and topped with the Whole Foods mango salsa. Mangos and tofu? Hear me out here — it’s a must-eat.

I will admit, four tacos was a bit ambitious. I was originally aiming for three but felt weird leaving a half slice of Toffuti in the fridge. Of course, a kind note for my roommate and the fourth taco sitting in the fridge under plastic wrap gave him a pretty pleasant morning.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

I also enjoyed breakfast with my Yoda mug and a big ol’ homemade vanilla almond latté. Seems like a slow morning? As a matter of fact, minutes later I was on the road and on route to ballet class. I love my ballet classes — I feel such a humbling sense of determination when I’m at the barre.

What’s your favourite variation on tofu scramble? How do you like it — on toast, in a burrito, or solo?

About breerodymantha

Proud Canadian. Long arms. Tiny head. Big dreams. CBC. Longboards. Bicycles. Upper Jarvis. Ballet. Acrobatics. Top-roping. Stemming. Smearing. Lip balm. Early mornings. Double-layered socks. Tea time.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

