“Orange You Glad?” aka “Screw You, Flu!” smoothie

Riddle for you: What has two legs, two arms, four tattoos, two bunions and is the most forgetful woman in the world?

Okay, that’s not really a riddle, that’s just a question. And the answer is Bree. Bree is the most forgetful woman in the world (also, ewww, bunions)!

This week I lost my purse. I thought I lost it at a Starbucks in Chapters in central Scarborough. And after a morning of sobbing thinking that every single person who’s ever told me I’m a disorganized failure was right, I had to trek all over town without my drivers license and cancel a bunch of cards and start the process of getting my life back in order (most importantly: replacing the Pacifica Coconut Kiss in Blissed Out I’ve been yammering on so much about).

Guess what my building manager brought up to my apartment last night?

Apparently I dropped my purse while I was throwing some things out in the parking garage. Fortunately there are no real setbacks as a result, except I can’t use my current credit card until the new one comes in the mail. And I have my Coconut Kiss back! Priorities, right?

That combined with my recent bout of strep throat along with some absolutely killer cramps had me in a real November kinda mood (I know, it’s December, but December moods = candy canes and hot chocolate. November moods = dirty snow and coats that are either too warm or too cold). Wednesday morning I was so miserable I could barely chug down my Back on Track Green Monster between sobs (trust me, it was a lengthy cry. I haven’t cried in months and was long overdue). I may, as a result, go through a bit of a phase in which I associate green monsters, at least that more watery, veggie-full green monster, with curling up in a pathetic little ball of sadness on my bed while even my cat surely thought, “Dude, get it together.”

So I took a different approach today.

In terms of smoothies, I’ve not done a lot of experimenting. Back when smoothies first became mainstream (but they were basically liquid candy), I did the typical, berries, banana, milk, blend. It wasn’t until I went vegan that I started using smoothies as a source of significant vitamins and nutrients. And since then I’ve operated purely on everyone else’s suggestions.

But then I had some carrots that I didn’t know what to do with. And everything changed. (Queue dramatic music).

I’m not great with naming yet, but I’m alternating between the “Orange You Glad?” smoothie and the “Screw You, Flu!” smoothie. This isn’t a very heavy smoothie as it lacks milk and a banana. You could surely add some if you like, but if you add milk I would recommend just about a half up and skipping out on the lemon juice all together. You might also make it more tropical by adding in some pineapple juice or something of the like, and making it into a fun smoothie. This was just a nice, fresh way to start my day and make me feel like a big ball of sunshine after being a real bummer all week.

Processed with VSCOcam with se3 preset

You’ll need:

  • Two seedless naval oranges
  • Three small or two medium carrots, peeled and chopped
  • Juice from 1/2 lemon
  • 1 TBSP maple syrup (I used maple flavoured agave… don’t tell!)
  • 1/2 TBSP chopped ginger
  • 5 ice cubes
  • Pinch cayenne pepper (optional)

It’s pretty straightforward to make (it’s a dang smoothie), but here are some tips I’d recommend:

  • Divide up and blend the oranges first, before you do anything else — this creates a nice juicy base for you to then blend the carrots, ginger and lemon juice.
  • I added the maple syrup, ice and pepper last, after everything was already pureed.
  • If you’re storing this overnight, give it a good shake — there’s a lot of juice in this smoothie, so it separated quite easily.

Looks like I’ll be working with carrots a lot more often — I love carrots and oranges together, so this was a really pleasant first-time smoothie chef experience. Have a good weekend, friends — and try not to be self-loathing. Trust me, it’s way too painful and entirely not worth it.

About breerodymantha

Proud Canadian. Long arms. Tiny head. Big dreams. CBC. Longboards. Bicycles. Upper Jarvis. Ballet. Acrobatics. Top-roping. Stemming. Smearing. Lip balm. Early mornings. Double-layered socks. Tea time.
This entry was posted in Recipes, Smoothies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Orange You Glad?” aka “Screw You, Flu!” smoothie

  1. telishacannon77 says:

    I love your title!! 🙂

    Like

  2. Ema Jones says:

    Tasty way to keep yourself fit and fine!

    Like

Leave a Reply

