Tofu-less breakfast scramble

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 preset

I never thought tofu scramble would come to replace my beloved scrambled egg breakfasts. But oh boy, has tofu scramble ever become a big part of my life over the past two years. So versatile. So fun to prepare. I learned that something doesn’t have to taste just like eggs for me to see them as a worthy substitute.

But I think I might have over-killed it on the whole tofu scramble thing this year — I’ve just found it a little high-maintenance recently, or maybe I’m just a bit bored. Anyway, it’s hard to find an alternative savoury breakfast that isn’t tofu-based.

Except, consider this: potatoes.

I. Love. Potatoes. I grew up in a French-Canadian family in Northeastern Ontario where nothing really grows, so we didn’t always have access to the best vegetables, but we did have potatoes. When I moved to Toronto I found I was using potatoes as a comfort food and started to integrate them into almost every meal. So easy. So fluffy. Po-freaking-tatoes. Love ’em.

I was already integrating potatoes into my tofu scramble most days. But this dish made potatoes the main event. No pressing required, no soy, and it’s just something nice and different. This would be really good in a wrap, but we enjoyed it mashed over naan.

This recipe is soy-free and gluten-free (you don’t HAVE to mash it over naan like we did, or you can get gluten-free bread).

Here’s what you’ll need to get what we got:

  • 400 grams potatoes (we used all yellow, but a mix of yellow and sweet could be could, as long as it’s more yellow than sweet), cubed
  • 1 cup diced yellow onion
  • 1/2 cup diced tomato (or halved grape tomatoes)
  • 1/3 cup shredded Brussels sprouts
  • 2-3 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 1 tsp smoked paprika
  • 1/2 tsp tumeric
  • 1 tsp dried rosemary
  • Salt + pepper, to taste
  • 1 avocado, cubed
  • Bread or naan, optional
  • 1 Tbsp canola oil or virgin coconut oil

Instructions:

  1. Cube your potatoes (you can peel ’em too, but I like skin) and put them in a medium-sized pot, cover with water and bring to a boil. Once water is boiling, reduce to medium heat and cover for about 20 minutes.
  2. As the potatoes are cooking, chop your veggies.
  3. Warm the oil over medium-high heat. When oil has started to spread, add the garlic and onions.
  4. When the onions have softened and the garlic is fragrant, add the tomatoes.
  5. Drain the potatoes and add them to the mixture.
  6. Toss in the Brussels sprouts and add your spices.
  7. Let the mixture cook until the potatoes become fork-tender but also slightly crispy on the outside, and the spices have begun to fill your kitchen with a totally delectable smell.
  8. Chop your avocado and toss into a bowl with the rest of the mixture. Divide it up and spoon onto plates. Serve over bread slices, naan, wraps or nothing at all! A healthy dose of Sriracha also helps!

And that’s that — my favourite (so far) soy-free savoury breakfast. I’m trying my hand at chickpea flour eggs tonight — wish me luck! What’s your favourite alternative to tofu at breakfast?

About breerodymantha

Proud Canadian. Long arms. Tiny head. Big dreams. CBC. Longboards. Bicycles. Upper Jarvis. Ballet. Acrobatics. Top-roping. Stemming. Smearing. Lip balm. Early mornings. Double-layered socks. Tea time.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

