Apple-Cranberry Pie Larabars

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Howdy, Internet! What’s that big, scary thing you see there?

Why, that’s my face!

You’ll have to forgive the shameless display of my big ol’ face. Sometimes I just get really flirty with the camera and don’t feel like hiding anymore. Admittedly I was on a bit of a camera high yesterday. My friend Jenna and I had another great session of photos downtown (in the St. Lawrence Market area) that I’ll be preparing for my Mom for Christmas. Of course, getting up super early to dance in my sock feet in a snowy alleyway downtown wasn’t exactly my idea of a comfortable morning, so I just had to have some comfort food when I got back home.

Remember when I made my raw brownies and I said that having a tiny food processor is a real pain in the ass when you’re making raw desserts? Well, fortunately, my partner has an industrial-sized food processor. So I can safely say I’ll be doing a lot of raw cooking at his place.

Now, there are a few things you need to know about climbers, if you don’t know a lot of us. This is for your own good, you know, so you know exactly how to approach or make friends with one of us.

  • Seasoned climbers prefer climbing in their ratty jeans to “athletic” clothes.
  • No matter what our gender or sexual orientation, we all have crushes on Hazel Findlay and Alex Honnold.
  • If we catch the rope when we pull it down, someone (we’re not sure who) owes us a beer.
  • If you give us a Clif Bar or a Larabar, we’ll be your friend forever.

I happen to love both and have a decent handle on making them homemade, but Larabars are admittedly a bit lower maintenance to make (AND eat — so soft and gooey).

Making Larabars at home is really easy if you have a food processor. Here’s your basic formula:

  • One-third of the mix should be soft, pitted dates
  • One-third of the mix should be nuts (preferably large, binding nuts like walnuts or cashews)
  • One-third should be your flavour buddies (i.e. dried fruit, chocolate, berries).
  • Added flavour enhancers, like cinnamon, vanilla, a pinch of sea salt, etc.

I’m a chocolate hound and everyone knows this, but as the holiday season approaches us, who could pass up a good apple pie?

No one, that’s who. That’s why this was our Larabar recipe:

  • 1 cup (250 ml) pitted soft Medjool dates (you can also use honey dates)
  • 1 cup (250 ml) walnuts
  • 1/2 cup (125 ml) dried cranberries
  • 1/2 cup (125 ml) dried apple chips
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • A few generous shakes apple bitters (these are optional, but highly recommended as it gives the bars a far more fragrant taste. This is the brand we use).

So toss this all into your food processor at once, pulse, scrape, pulse, scrape, until it’s good and mixed. Spread it out onto a lined pan. Cover and refrigerate for at least 20 minutes and slice up into bars. Keep covered and refrigerated.

This recipe yields about eight large bars.

Maybe I’ll come back at you guys with my Clif Bar recipe soon. In the meantime, I’ve been working on my balance and strength lately to try to get myself back to when I was at my peak of acro training (which is about 10 years ago now). I’m hoping to get out to some open gymnastics sessions in the new year so I can hopefully get my aerial and back handspring back. In the meantime, here’s a forearm stand from the other night where I hed good form for about 20-30 seconds. Not bad for an old lady!

10857786_10152424710006924_6712793844488850991_n

W

About breerodymantha

Proud Canadian. Long arms. Tiny head. Big dreams. CBC. Longboards. Bicycles. Upper Jarvis. Ballet. Acrobatics. Top-roping. Stemming. Smearing. Lip balm. Early mornings. Double-layered socks. Tea time.
This entry was posted in Recipes, snacks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

