Festive breakfast partfait with chocolate tofu mousse

Processed with VSCOcam with hb1 preset

Y’all ready for this?

Are you?

I don’t think you’re ready for this, because in the next few days, I’m going to be posting a disgusting amount of food. Let’s just say my partner and I had an astoundingly fun weekend of kitchen experiments and all were successful. And what a better way to celebrate than to share on the ol’ blog?

So, there are three things in this world that, while not on the same level as air, water and food are pretty much essential to my survival. Those three things are:

  • Sweatpants
  • The music of Drake
  • Chocolate

My mother just texted me yesterday panicking because she was packing my stocking and had no idea what to give a vegan in the way of snackies. Oh, mother. If you only knew. If you only knew the possibilities that existed.

I don’t work a lot with silken tofu, but I was at an Asian supermarket on Friday and decided to pick some up. I thought, “There has to be a way to make a nice, sweet breakfast out of this.” My partner doesn’t really like “big” breakfasts, but he is a yogourt guy. So I thought, maybe I can meet him halfway. And then it came to me.

  • Chocolate
  • tofu
  • mousse.

I mean, come on, right?!

So here’s how you do it:

  • One brick silken tofu, drained but not pressed, cut into cubes for easy blending
  • 1/4 cup agave nectar
  • 2 heaping tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1 tbsp smooth peanut butter (optional)

Blend together until mixture becomes smooth. I added the agave gradually, but it all depends on how fast your blender can go.

Let sit in the fridge for at least 20 minutes to thicken up.

To assemble this parfait, I layered mousse, berry granola, strawberries, goji berries, cacao nibs and an extra drizzle of agave.

Christmas, amirite?

Anyway, the recipe for mousse yields about four parfaits worth, so go. nuts.

About breerodymantha

Proud Canadian. Long arms. Tiny head. Big dreams. CBC. Longboards. Bicycles. Upper Jarvis. Ballet. Acrobatics. Top-roping. Stemming. Smearing. Lip balm. Early mornings. Double-layered socks. Tea time.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Recipes, snacks and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Festive breakfast partfait with chocolate tofu mousse

  1. Arielle says:

    It looks amazing! ❤

    Like

Leave a comment