PB & J Pick-me-up smoothie, self-care, and apartment re-arranging.

20150116_152556I’ve started a new routine that is proving quite beneficial to me: I’ve started working from home on Fridays. See, I’ve been telling myself (and telling everyone who reads my blog) that I’m going to start practicing self-care more diligently. Unfortunately I’ve realized that if I want to practice more self-care, I need to spend more time at home.

Here’s a catch: that’s going to be impossible this week. I’m subbing at my dance studio tonight and Thursday, plus my regular teaching on Tuesday. I’m going to be one sleepy girl this week, but I keep swearing up and down that this is the last week that things will truly be “crazy.”

Until then, though, working from home on Fridays helps me keep balanced. I’m able to do my laundry, prep food, spend time with Chris, and get little projects done. This week we started a big project — organizing the kitchen! I’ll be sharing some progress pics soon to show how we are working toward our big goal. Until then, here’s some big news to share with you all:

I’ve decided to stay in the Parkcrest apartment well past the end of our lease.

Why? Well, a lot of reasons.

  • The price is right. I’m making a lot of money right now and paying low rent. I’d rather continue on this path toward saving for my future than go back to barely breaking even.
  • It’s a car-friendly neighbourhood.
  • Chris is a great roommate.
  • The apartment is beautiful, big and well-managed.
  • Moving sucks and is expensive!

But if I’m in it for the long haul, that means a few changes. So here are the plans and goals for over the next year:

  1. Rearrange, organize and paint the kitchen (we’re going with electric teal!), completed by Chris’s reading week (Family Day week)
  2. Rearrange the living room, decorate and put up some shelves
  3. Rearrange and paint my room (still haven’t decided on a colour yet… any suggestions?) and organize our storage closet (which is off of my room).

Here are some more long-term goals that are still, right now, “wishes” rather than “plans” because I’m not sure if or how they’ll ever pan out.

  • Create a corner in the living room specifically for food photography for the blog.
  • Do SOMETHING with the bathroom (so blah!)
  • Help Chris get his room in order (ultimately, it’s up to him).

Anyway, when it comes to self-care I’m happy to announce that I’m doing better, despite still not being able to slow down (remind me that it is OKAY to say no to my studio owner once in awhile)! I’m eating almost no processed foods or take-out, am enjoying more raw foods, have kept gluten and fructose low and my energy high. I’ve also found good deals on hot yoga classes and will be spending a month doing some pretty hardcore yoga in the mornings. Wish me luck!

Here’s the smoothie that I made on Friday, very much a “reward yourself” kind of smoothie. It’s naturally full of protein and sweetness, and it’s just thick enough to feel luxurious without feeling like a dessert. I had it along with a small “instant noodle” jar for lunch (I’ll share my “instant noodle” recipe this week — it’s been great having food I can make ahead of time).

You can use a full cup of almond milk instead of the coconut water, but I found this gave it just the right consistency that it was smooth without feeling runny.

Peanut Butter and Jam Smoothie

Ingredients:

  • One small or 1/2 large banana, sliced
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/2 cup coconut water
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 tbsp peanut butter
  • 1 cup frozen strawberries or raspberries
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • 2 ice cubes

Blend in a high-speed blender and voila — you’ve satisfied your inner child for the day!

Catch you later this week, Internet. Hopefully I won’t be a total zombie.

About breerodymantha

Proud Canadian. Long arms. Tiny head. Big dreams. CBC. Longboards. Bicycles. Upper Jarvis. Ballet. Acrobatics. Top-roping. Stemming. Smearing. Lip balm. Early mornings. Double-layered socks. Tea time.
This entry was posted in Recipes, Smoothies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

