Brownie batter chocolate protein smoothie

Processed with VSCOcam with hb2 presetI did it — I got a month of hot yoga passes! And I’ve actually managed to wake myself up and get out of my house before 6:00 a.m. to make it over to the Danforth for a nice sweaty hot yoga session. It feels awesome! It took me awhile to get into the whole hot yoga thing. I don’t believe the theory that our body is full of evil, ambiguous “toxins” that we need to force out (our bodies, when functioning properly, are smart and know when to expel bad things. That’s why we pee so much when we drink alcohol!) but I DO like that the heat provides increased mobility and easier stretching of a lot of my muscles. Yoga is also a great workout for my mind, and it’s good to have my brain that turned on in the morning besides just mainly going through rep after rep at the gym. I’m loving it so far!

For a workout like this I obviously need something that stays down easily (read: isn’t heavy!), is portable, but also will keep me full until the end of the morning. Hooray for protein smoothies, right?

This smoothie doesn’t actually have any added protein powder, though nothing is stopping you from it. Originally it started out as a variation on the Gym Rat smoothie from the Oh She Glows cookbook, but it took on a life of it’s own so it’s pretty much unrecognizable.

One of the main things I’ve had a challenge with for this smoothie is replacing the dates. Ever since I started cutting out high-fructose foods, dates have been a no-go for me. I’ve made a few exceptions for things like raw peppermint brownies, and honestly, I regret it every time. What I did instead was add some walnuts and raspberries to the recipe to bind it a little more. There will be a distinct raspberry taste if you do this, though, so if you don’t like raspberries and are cool with high-fructose foods, just use two pitted dates (medjool or honey).

Ingredients

  • 1 cup unsweetened almond (or other non-dairy) milk
  • 2 tbsp certified gluten-free rolled oats
  • 1/4 cup walnut halves or pieces (cashews might also have the same effect!)
  • 1/3 cup frozen or fresh raspberries
  • 1 small/medium banana
  • 1 tbsp hemp seeds
  • 1 tbsp whole flax or chia seeds
  • 1 tbsp nut butter
  • 1 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • Pinch of cinnamon
  • NO ICE. I cannot stress this enough. If you want it to be nice and cool, freeze your banana/raspberries beforehand, or put it in the fridge. What makes this smoothie the “brownie batter smoothie” is how thick it is!

Directions

  1. Blend the milk, oats and walnuts on high for about 30 seconds until the solids start to really get pulverized. I find doing this ahead lets them incorporate into the rest of the mixture better.
  2. Let the mix sit for about 10 minutes.
  3. Shake or stir the mixture before you add the remainder of the ingredients. Blend until smooth.
About breerodymantha

Proud Canadian. Long arms. Tiny head. Big dreams. CBC. Longboards. Bicycles. Upper Jarvis. Ballet. Acrobatics. Top-roping. Stemming. Smearing. Lip balm. Early mornings. Double-layered socks. Tea time.
This entry was posted in Recipes, Smoothies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

