“Keep it simple” tofu scramble and rosemary root veggie home fries

Processed with VSCOcam

I love a good tofu scramble. And I really believe that with tofu scramble, there’s no way you can really go wrong. Add whatever you want and eat a dang rainbow.

But lately, I’ve been wanting to scale back and simplify my tofu scramble. Maybe that’s because I have never quite achieved that nice, sulfur-like taste that I admit I missed a bit from scrambled eggs and I wanted to scale back on the other veggies until I cracked (get it!) the code.

That is, until now.

This was what I fueled my Saturday morning with, which proceeded to ballet class, yoga class and an adventure to IKEA. I hope to show you the progress I’m making on our kitchen, my room, and our bathroom. Whee!

“Keep it Simple” Tofu Scramble, serves three (or two very hungry people!)

Ingredients

  • One brick extra-firm tofu, drained and pressed
  • Three cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 2 tsp extra-virgin olive oil
  • 3/4 cup spinach
  • 1/4 cup shredded mozzarella Daiya or other shredded non-dairy cheese
  • 3 tbsp tumeric
  • 2 tbsp nutritional yeast (optional)
  • Black salt, to taste*

*This charcoal-infused salt is what gives the scramble that nice “eggy” taste. It’s tough to find (I found it at The Big Carrot) and is a tad pricey. Just sub with regular salt if you can’t find or don’t feel like the splurge.

Directions

  1. Drain and press the tofu
  2. While the tofu is pressing, chop your garlic
  3. Warm the oil over medium-low heat. Add the garlic. Let sautee for about four minutes or until fragrant
  4. While the garlic sautees, crumble the tofu (I shred it a bit with a fork before breaking it down with my fingers to give the chunks some nice variety in size). Mix in a large bowl with the tumeric and the nutritional yeast.
  5. Add the tofu to the pan and sprinkle on the black salt.
  6. Toss in the Daiya and spinach and mix around. When the spinach is wilted, the Daiya should be nicely melted.

Rosemary root veggie home fries

Did I ever love these! I’ve been increasingly obsessed with root vegetables outside of standard potatoes (and you guys know how I feel about potatoes!), and this was a great, colourful start to my day. It was ridiculously easy to do while working on the tofu!

Ingredients

  • One Yukon gold potato, cubed
  • One parsnip, cubed
  • One sweet potato, cubed
  • One tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
  • One sprig rosemary
  • Four cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • One lemon, divided into quarters
  • Salt and pepper, to taste

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 425 degrees Celsius and line a rimmed baking sheet with parchment paper
  2. Cube the veggies and add to a plastic zip baggie or a bowl
  3. Add the rosemary stems to the bowl along with the oil, chopped garlic, and juice from 1/4 of the lemon. Mix around and add to the baking sheet. Add the remaining 3/4 of the lemon to the sheet to add an extra lemon-y aroma.
  4. Cook for 20-25 minutes or until the veggies start to brown

I enjoyed this dish with some Julienned carrots and blueberries, and of course an herbal tea. It was a great breakfast for energizing me which surprisingly didn’t weigh me down. And seriously, it was so easy!

Tomorrow I’ll be posting a new vegan, gluten-free bread recipe — so make room in your stomachs!

About breerodymantha

Proud Canadian. Long arms. Tiny head. Big dreams. CBC. Longboards. Bicycles. Upper Jarvis. Ballet. Acrobatics. Top-roping. Stemming. Smearing. Lip balm. Early mornings. Double-layered socks. Tea time.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

