Slightly sweet and incredibly easy vegan, gluten-free bread.

Processed with VSCOcam

Pardon my language, but I really had my shit together this past weekend. I managed to not only make myself a totally delicious breakfast before dance class on Saturday, I also made a loaf of bread (vegan and gluten-free, of course). Best part? I managed to not eat it until that afternoon. And then I ate pretty much the whole thing (my partner helped just a bit!) in only two days. Whoops.

I don’t own a bread maker and I would definitely say this loaf is more of a cakey brad with similar texture to banana or carrot loaf than the kind of bread you get in a bag. But I’m a sweet girl (I think) who likes her breads thick, soft and (ewwww) moist. I know, we all hate the word, but is there a better way to describe that kind of texture?

Oooh, I know! Decadent.

Anyway, this was my second attempt making this bread. The first time the yeast didn’t puff up enough and it ended up totally flat. It still doesn’t rise a ton, so beware if you’re expecting a big puffy loaf. Anyway, here we go.

Gluten-free vegan bread

Ingredients

  • Yeast mix
    • 2 1/2 teaspoons active dry yeast
    • 1 cup warmed unsweetened almond milk
    • 1 tbsp coconut nectar (or maple syrup or agave if you’re not a big fructose nerd like me)
  • Wet mix
    • 1 cup warm water
    • 1/4 cup flax seed meal
    • 3 tbsp melted virgin coconut oil
    • 2 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • Dry mix
    • 3 cups sorghum flour
    • 1/4 cup tapioca starch
    • 1 tsp baking powder
    • 3/4 tsp xanthan gum
    • 1/4 tsp ground cinnamon (1/2 if you want a more distinct taste)
    • 1/2 tsp baking soda
    • 1/4 tsp fine grain sea salt

Directions

(Seriously, this is so easy)

  1. Combine the yeast mixture and stir to incorporate the yeast. Let sit in a medium-sized bowl for 10-15 minutes.
  2. Once the mixture has puffed up, add all of the wet mix and whisk to combine.
  3. Meanwhile, mix all of the dry ingredients in a large bowl and whisk so they’re well-combined.
  4. Let rise for at least 45 minutes. Meanwhile, preheat your oven to 375 degrees.
  5. Once the bread is done rising, spread into a deep rectangular baking pan and let bake for 60-75 minutes. The outside won’t change colour much, so text it with a fork!
  6. Let cool for 30 minutes and slice to your heart’s content.

This bread was so so easy and yummy. I topped it with coconut spread and Crofter’s Strawberry jam. I also meant to enjoy it with some avocado mash, but I was too busy EATING THE ENTIRE LOAF IN TWO DAYS. Warning: It is a bit difficult getting this bread in and out of a toaster, so I’d recommend warming it up in an oven or a warm, dry skillet.

Variation ideas I want to try:

  • Incorporating more of a coconut taste — perhaps more coconut nectar and adding some shaved coconut;
  • Pumpkin and ginger! Perhaps I could sub some of the oil with pumpkin;
  • Shredded carrot and pineapple to make it more of a dessert bread.
About breerodymantha

Proud Canadian. Long arms. Tiny head. Big dreams. CBC. Longboards. Bicycles. Upper Jarvis. Ballet. Acrobatics. Top-roping. Stemming. Smearing. Lip balm. Early mornings. Double-layered socks. Tea time.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

