Winter Sunrise Smoothie

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Well, what a day I had yesterday. I was in a bit of a funk due to general depression/anxiety crap, but just as I thought, “Well, at least I’m bottoming out now,” my car battery died as I was gassing up my car, I blew a fuse at work, dropped a waffle and nearly started a fire.

Go me!

But hey, that’s done now. And once in awhile everyone needs a good bottom out. Yep, all uphill from here!

Okay, but then this morning, I busted my ass to get to hot yoga on time, had some issues with the parking meter, ran in, dropped off my things, ran back out to use a different parking meter, and got back to find class had started and I’d been locked out. Holy shnike! It’s a good thing I at least had the important things — my food for the rest of the day and my wallet — with me. Looks like I’ll have to get my mat and towel and water bottle back another time.

So it’s all uphill from here, right?

Honestly, there’s no point in being upset. Wow, I didn’t make a yoga class — my life must be so hard! I mean, when I put it in perspective, I think I’m doing alright. Yes, I have to go to the Danforth to pick up my yoga mat tonight, and yes, I came to work at *checks watch* 7:15 without having showered (please don’t let them realize it, please don’t let them realize it), but… when that’s my biggest problem today? I think I’ll be okay.

At least I did start the day off with a really fantastic orange smoothie. I call this the “Winter Sunrise” because it’s undeniably summery, but made a few artistic choices to give it a warmer, spicier taste. This packs a lot of vitamins and hydration, and the banana and chia make it totally filling. In truth, I like the name “Winter Sunrise” because that’s my favourite part of winter, being awake to see the sun rise (it is really cool doing the morning hot yoga and watching the sun rise over the Danforth). I’m a bit sad that we’re going to be kissing winter good-bye, supposedly within the next six weeks (but hey, what do rodents know)?

Winter Sunrise Smoothie, serves one (about 3 cups)

Ingredients

  • 2 seedless naval oranges
  • 1 banana
  • 1/2 cup peeled and chopped carrots
  • 1/3 cup frozen mango chunks
  • 1/2 cup water or coconut water
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1/2 tbsp grated ginger
  • A squirt of lemon juice
  • A generous pinch of garam masala
  • 2-3 ice cubes

Directions

  1. Peel the oranges and banana and blend until purified
  2. Add the carrots, mango chunks and coconut water and blend
  3. Add the chia, ginger, lemon juice and ice, blend until smooth.
  4. Enjoy the sunrise!
About breerodymantha

Proud Canadian. Long arms. Tiny head. Big dreams. CBC. Longboards. Bicycles. Upper Jarvis. Ballet. Acrobatics. Top-roping. Stemming. Smearing. Lip balm. Early mornings. Double-layered socks. Tea time.
This entry was posted in Recipes, Smoothies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

