Hydration station green smoothie

Processed with VSCOcamI keep telling myself that the weather is going to warm up soon.

I. Keep. Telling. Myself.

Honestly, everyone is getting to a point of major bum-out with this weather, but I’m starting to settle into a groove with it. The snow is getting sticky (snowballs! Yay!), my body is used to the temperature now, and my snow tires are actually proving to be a decent investment.

It’s enough to keep my chin up until spring rears its muddy, pungent head.

In the meantime, I’ve been enjoying my earlier and earlier sunrises over the Danforth at yoga classes, getting my butt to ballet, lead climbing several nights a week — holy crap, I’m busy! And I’m also eating well. I have no idea how I’m managing to do all of this, but having a supportive partner who loves to cook is a huge plus.

This smoothie is one I have been taking with me to yoga with pride and enthusiasm every morning. Just looking at its bright green colour makes me want to put an umbrella in it. I’m legitimately convinced that it’s making summer come faster! Okay, I’ll stop talkin’ nonsense now.

Hydration station green smoothie

Ingredients

  • 1 cup spinach or kale
  • 1/2 cup frozen mango chunks
  • 1 medium English cucumber, peeled and ends removed
  • 1/2 cup coconut water
  • Juice from 1 lime
  • 1 tbsp coconut nectar or other liquid sweetener (optional — I like a sweeter smoothie)
  • 1 tbsp flax seed meal
  • 2 ice cubes

Chop all ingredients and add to a blender, running that thing until it’s all smooth. Gulp it down, you crazy clown!

About breerodymantha

Proud Canadian. Long arms. Tiny head. Big dreams. CBC. Longboards. Bicycles. Upper Jarvis. Ballet. Acrobatics. Top-roping. Stemming. Smearing. Lip balm. Early mornings. Double-layered socks. Tea time.
This entry was posted in Recipes, Smoothies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

