Fresh bean salad with creamy sriracha dressing

Processed with VSCOcamWow, it really has been awhile. Or at least, it feels like it has. I did post on Thursday! But I can’t lie, I’ve been in a bit of a creative slump the last little bit. I’ve got smoothie after smoothie after smoothie, but haven’t come up with a cool main in awhile.

I can safely say that that’s about to change. I am starting to feel very inspired by the world around me again. We just pushed the clocks forward, meaning there is more sunshine in my life — and that’s good for anyone’s soul. I’m also still holding out for some good news with regards to a major change in my life, but I don’t want to jinx that, and I’ll only post more if I hear more. I’m starting to become inspired to create some more summer-y recipes that make me feel light and cool, and this bean salad is one of those things.

Now, this is the kind of salad that can be a simple side or it can be mixed in with some greens and grains to pack a protein punch as part of a bowl. Either way, you’re getting well-fed without feeling like lying on your back afterward. The creamy sriracha dressing might not seem appropriate for this salad at first (it seems like more of a vinaigrette kind of salad, I’ll admit), but it actually goes surprisingly well — coats everything without seeming so heavy and saucy.

Fresh bean salad, serves… a whole lot (seriously, I’ll be eating this all week)

Ingredients

  • One 19 oz can black beans
  • One 19 oz can mixed beans (ours was a six-bean medley of chickpeas, black-eyed peas, white beans and a few different kinds of kidney beans… feel free to put in whatever kind of beans you want, save for squishy lentils)
  • 1 1/2 cups whole kernel corn (we used canned)
  • One small to medium red onion, diced
  • One English cucumber, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh parsley (or cilantro!)

Instructions

  1. Drain the beans and corn if using canned (or prepare if using dried/cob corn) and mix in a large bowl
  2. Add the diced onion, cucumber, garlic and parsley
  3. Mix together and let sit for at least 1/2 hour to let the flavours develop

Creamy sriracha dressing, makes about one cup

Ingredients

  • 1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar
  • 1/4 cup tahini
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 2 tbsp sriracha
  • Salt and pepper, to taste

Instructions

  1. Pulse all ingredients in a small blender and shake before serving. This is a very viscous dressing, so it’s best spooned onto your salad (or burrito! This would be AMAZING on a burrito).

Woah, what a simple recipe, right? And yet, it was so damn good, I could eat it as a main. I’m not kidding when I say I will be eating this for a week. That’s the great thing about “summer” recipes — rarely are they complicated, but they’re so, so good and satisfying. What are you doing to celebrate these longer sunshine hours? More popsicles? More patio drinks? It’s going to be above zero almost all week — so someone is going to be looking at cleaning up her balcony (hint: it’s me!)

About breerodymantha

Proud Canadian. Long arms. Tiny head. Big dreams. CBC. Longboards. Bicycles. Upper Jarvis. Ballet. Acrobatics. Top-roping. Stemming. Smearing. Lip balm. Early mornings. Double-layered socks. Tea time.
This entry was posted in Lunch and Supper, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fresh bean salad with creamy sriracha dressing

  1. Pingback: Festive burrito lunch wrap with raw zesty taco “meat” | Urban Garlic

Leave a Reply

