Chocolate berry super shake

Processed with VSCOcam

First of all, a quick but important announcement: as of this weekend, you can officially find me and all my content at urban-garlic.com. I will be setting up my domain on Friday or Saturday, so when the time comes, keep me in your feed at my new home!

Smoothies, amirite? Like, do I want a green smoothie, a veggie smoothie, a fruity smoothie, or a chocolate smoothie?

I’m sorry, but that is the most first-world hipster problem I’ve ever encountered.

Nevertheless, I’m a total brat and I face this “dilemma” every day that I make myself a smoothie. But I’m an adventurous girl. So I have no fear in mixing things up. Fruits and veggies! Fruits and greens! Fruits and chocolate! … veggies and chocolate?

Well, maybe one day. But in the meantime, here’s a fruity chocolate creation. This is my first time using Macca powder, which I’ll admit can be a bit pricey. My recommendation for anyone who wants to try Macca is to buy it at a bulk store. Don’t bother with health food stores where so-called superfoods are super-friggin’-expensive and It’s great for giving a smoothie a great smooth, chocolatey taste (and bonus, you can cut down on cocoa powder).

This smoothie tasted like dessert, but because I put fruit in it I fooled myself into thinking I was eating something fresh and fruity. Hah!

Chocolate berry super-shake, serves one

Ingredients

  • 1 cup unsweetened almond (or other non-dairy) milk
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1-2 tbsp ripe avocado
  • 1 tbsp hemp hearts
  • 1/2 cup frozen raspberries
  • 1 tsp macca root powder
  • 1/2 tbsp cacao powder
  • Dash of ground cinnamon
  • Dash of fine-grain sea salt
  • 1 tbsp nut butter (optional — for protein/brotein!)

Instructions

  1. Blend all ingredients in a high-speed blender until smooth.
  2. High-five yourself for drinking your fruits and your chocolate all at once.

I’ve been on a real sweets kick lately. Just wait until you see what I post later this week. Let’s just say, much like this shake, you’ll technically be getting your fruits in, but it’s still basically candy.

About breerodymantha

Proud Canadian. Long arms. Tiny head. Big dreams. CBC. Longboards. Bicycles. Upper Jarvis. Ballet. Acrobatics. Top-roping. Stemming. Smearing. Lip balm. Early mornings. Double-layered socks. Tea time.
This entry was posted in Recipes, Smoothies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

