“Buttermilk” pancakes with tangy blackberry compote

Processed with VSCOcam with a4 preset

Well, this post came a little bit late. Want to know why? Well, I got a little sick this week and things took a turn for the yucky. And at first, yesterday, I thought, “Hey, if I’m gonna be in bed all day, I can at least blog, right?” Yeah, turns out even staring at my computer screen and typing was exhausting. Sigh. But now that I’m at about 50% and I can eat again (seriously, not being able to eat is the WORST), I’m back to thinking food.

Pancakes are such a great go-to. I’ll never understand the Mitch Hedberg joke in which he says pancakes are “All exciting at first, then by the end, you’re sick of ’em.” Sorry, Mitch (RIP) but maybe you just haven’t been eating the right pancakes. I’ve already done a pancake recipe on this blog, but these are a little more flavourful and fluffy, and without the chocolate chips. Here’s my “buttermilk” pancake recipe, which made enough for two — but we were hella hungry.

To go along with it I included the recipe for this blackberry compote I threw together. I’ve always thought pancakes were so much bigger than syrup. I’ve always been a fan of peanut butter on my pancakes, or even bananas or jam. So now that I’m a big kid, I guess a berry compote is a step up from that, right?

Buttermilk Pancakes, makes about 6 medium pancakes

Ingredients

  • 1 cup sorghum flour
  • 1/2 cup brown rice flour
  • 1/3 cup organic sugar
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp xantan gum
  • 1 pinch cinnamon
  • 1 1/3 cup non-dairy milk + 2 tsp apple cider vinegar (or lemon juice)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 tbsp virgin coconut oil, melted
  • 1 flax egg (1 tbsp flax seed meal, 3 tbsp water)

Instructions

  1. Prep your flax egg in a small bowl or mug
  2. Make your “buttermilk” — pour your milk into a bowl and add the apple cider vinegar. Mix a little, then let sit for a few minutes.
  3. In a large mixing bowl, add your dry ingredients and whisk to mix.
  4. Add your wet ingredients, including the flax egg. You may have to add some extra milk if the batter doesn’t mix smoothly enough.
  5. Cook the pancakes in a nonstick skillet with just a bit of light-tasting oil on medium heat.

Tangy blackberry compote

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup fresh or frozen blackberries
  • 3/4 cup fresh or frozen raspberries
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 dash of rum (optional — I used Sailor Jerry’s spiced rum)

Instructions

  1. Simply combine all the ingredients in a large saucepan and cook until the berries become saucy and the sugar is absorbed.

Damn, that looks good. In fact, I just might test our my digestive system and have some right now. What do you think? Am I crazy?

About breerodymantha

Proud Canadian. Long arms. Tiny head. Big dreams. CBC. Longboards. Bicycles. Upper Jarvis. Ballet. Acrobatics. Top-roping. Stemming. Smearing. Lip balm. Early mornings. Double-layered socks. Tea time.
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

